Kaminer Inside: Summer of Culture with Obstacles

Summer, that is the season of festivals, concerts and folk festivals all over Europe. 2020 is different: due to the Corona crisis, major events in Germany, Austria and Switzerland are banned until at least the end of August – and what is possible after that is still written in the stars. Are we facing a summer WITHOUT culture? Is that even possible? Are there alternative concepts? What will happen at the places that are otherwise the venue for prestigious cultural events summer after summer and are overrun by crowds of visitors? What does this mean for the organisers and artists on site, what does it mean for us visitors? What is the mood like on site?

As a writer, Wladimir Kaminer himself is acutely affected: Almost all his readings and events have already been cancelled, private theatre and concert visits are impossible, he has already cancelled his holiday.

He takes the audience on a journey through the three 3sat countries, into the heart of the festival industry: he travels to the orphaned venues and meets artists, organisers and supporters. His journey takes him to three very different places, all of which are among the most visited and renowned cultural venues in Europe: the Oberammergau Passion Play, the Montreux Jazz Festival and the Bregenz Festival. 

Broadcast date 29. August 2020 um 20:15 Uhr auf 3sat
Length 60'
Written and directed by: Nadja Kölling
Camera: Patrick Meyer-Clement, Jean Schablin, Johann Schmejkal
Editor: Christian Brehm
Editorial advisor: Bettina von Pfeil (ZDF/3sat)
Production: Alex Busch, Christin Gumpert, Marius Meckl
Line producer: Ulrike Schwerdtner
Producer: Jasmin Gravenhorst
Filming location: Deutschland, Österreich, Schweiz

Kaminer Inside: Kultursommer mit Hindernissen

Sommer, das ist die Jahreszeit der Festspiele, Konzerte und Volksfeste in ganz Europa. Anders 2020: Aufgrund der Corona-Krise sind bis mindestens Ende August Großveranstaltungen in Deutschland, Österreich und der Schweiz verboten – und was danach möglich ist, steht noch in den Sternen. Steht uns ein Sommer OHNE Kultur bevor? Ist das überhaupt möglich? Gibt es Alternativkonzepte? Was geschieht an den Orten, die sonst Sommer für Sommer Austragungsort prestigeträchtiger Kulturveranstaltungen sind und von Besuchermassen überrollt werden? Was bedeutet das für die Veranstalter*innen und Künstler*innen vor Ort, was für uns Besucher*innen? Wie ist die Stimmung vor Ort?

Wladimir Kaminer ist als Schriftsteller selbst akut betroffen: Fast alle seine Lesungen und Veranstaltungen wurden schon abgesagt, private Theater – und Konzertbesuche sind unmöglich, seinen Urlaub hat er bereits storniert.

Er nimmt die Zuschauer*innen mit auf eine Reise durch die drei 3sat-Länder, ins Herz der Festspiel-Branche: Er fährt an die verwaisten Spielstätten und trifft Künstler*innen, Organisatoren und Anhänger*innen. Seine Reise führt ihn an drei sehr unterschiedliche Orte, die allesamt zu den meist besuchten und renommiertesten Kulturstätten Europas zählen: die Passionsspiele Oberammergau, das Jazzfestival in Montreux und die Bregenzer Festspiele. 

Galerie

Informationen zur Sendung

Sendedatum: 29. August 2020 um 20:15 Uhr auf 3sat
Länge: 60'
Buch und Regie: Nadja Kölling
Kamera: Patrick Meyer-Clement, Jean Schablin, Johann Schmejkal
Schnitt: Christian Brehm
Redaktion: Bettina von Pfeil (ZDF/3sat)
Produktion: Alex Busch, Christin Gumpert, Marius Meckl
Herstellung: Ulrike Schwerdtner
Produzentin: Jasmin Gravenhorst
Drehort: Deutschland, Österreich, Schweiz