Country-People-Adventure: Magical Colombia

This is also the Caribbean, its unknown side: fantastic stories of people full of joie de vivre, pristine, fine sandy beaches and the highest coastal mountains in the world. In the north of Colombia, far away from the drug wars in the south of the country, a region presents itself that could not be more multifaceted. Its scenic attractions, climatic extremes, but above all the colourful mixture of peoples around the Sierra Nevada de Santa Marta are the perfect breeding ground for bizarre characters and their stories.

Like a character from the magical world of Garcia Marquez, Luis Serrano rides his donkey through the rough terrain of the Sierra Nevada. 13-year-old Mario Hernandez wants to win a scholarship to the school in Valledupar with his accordion and dreams of being a big star one day. The candy seller Emelia Reyes lives in the tradition of her ancestors, who came from Africa as slaves.

Between the former pirate stronghold of Cartagena, the Indian village of Uríbia and the World Heritage Site of Mompox on the Colombian Caribbean lies a world in which there is no separation between myth and reality.

Broadcast date Donnerstag, 11. Februar 2016 um 20:15 Uhr im NDR
Length 43 Min.
Written and directed by: Marco Berger und Ana Maria Marin
Camera: Marco Berger
Editor: Fabian Teichmann
Editorial advisor: Kathrin Bronnert (NDR arte), Ralf Quibeldey (NDR)
Production: Ulrike Römhild
Line producer: Anke Meyer
Producer: Brigitta Schübeler
Executive producer: Hartmut Klenke
Filming location: Kolumbien

Länder-Menschen-Abenteuer: Magisches Kolumbien

Auch das ist die Karibik, ihre unbekannte Seite: Fantastische Geschichten von Menschen voller Lebensfreude, unberührte, feine Sandstrände und das höchste Küstengebirge der Welt. Im Norden Kolumbiens, fernab von den Drogenkriegen im Süden des Landes, präsentiert sich eine Region, wie sie facettenreicher nicht sein könnte. Ihre landschaftlichen Reize, klimatischen Extreme, vor allem aber das bunte Völkergemisch rund um die Sierra Nevada de Santa Marta sind der perfekte Nährboden für skurrile Figuren und ihre Geschichten.

Wie eine Figur aus der magischen Welt des Garcia Marquez reitet Luis Serrano mit seinem Esel durch das unwegsame Gelände der Sierra Nevada. Der 13 jährige Mario Hernandez will sich mit seinem Akkordeon ein Stipendium an der Schule in Valledupar erspielen und träumt davon einmal ein ganz großer Star zu sein. Die Süßigkeiten-Verkäuferin Emelia Reyes lebt in der Tradition ihrer Vorfahren, sie kamen als Sklaven aus Afrika.

Zwischen der ehemaligen Piratenhochburg Cartagena, dem Indianer-Dorf Uríbia und dem Weltkulturerbe Mompox an der kolumbianischen Karibik liegt eine Welt, in der es keine Trennung zwischen Mythen und Wirklichkeit gibt.

Galerie

Informationen zur Sendung

Sendedatum: Donnerstag, 11. Februar 2016 um 20:15 Uhr im NDR
Länge: 43 Min.
Buch und Regie: Marco Berger und Ana Maria Marin
Kamera: Marco Berger
Schnitt: Fabian Teichmann
Redaktion: Kathrin Bronnert (NDR arte), Ralf Quibeldey (NDR)
Produktion: Ulrike Römhild
Herstellung: Anke Meyer
Producer: Brigitta Schübeler
Ausführende Produzentin: Hartmut Klenke
Drehort: Kolumbien