Fairy Tales for the World – Hans Christian Andersen

Generations of children have grown up with his stories. All over the world, Hans Christian Andersen is known and loved as a fairy tale author. On 2 April, his birthday is celebrated as Children’s Book Day.

In doing so, he wrote for children and adults: “I tell the children while I remember that father and mother often listen, and they must be given something for the mind.” He did. His tales, unlike the Grimms’ fairy tales, are often deeply sad and without happy endings. The mermaid who transforms herself into a human being for her prince does not get him in the end. The stalwart tin soldier, after a mad odyssey, ends up back in his sheltered home, but unfortunately also in the oven in the end. And The Girl with the Matchsticks, who freezes to death on a cold winter’s night, reads like a bitter social critique. The fairy tales often reflect Andersen’s own experiences.

For the Danish fairy-tale poet did not have an easy life. He grew up in poor circumstances in the small town of Odense. To escape the misery, he set off for Copenhagen at the age of just 14. Here he seeks his fortune and wants to become famous. After numerous disappointments and the search for his destiny, he becomes a successful writer. Of course, he only writes the fairy tales out of financial necessity. From being a lucrative source of income, they become his most important literary works.

The documentary tells of the eventful life of the Danish national poet and delves into the exciting world of his fairy tales.

Broadcast date Samstag, 19. Dezember 2020 um 20:15 Uhr auf arte
Length 52'
Written and directed by: Sabine Bier
Camera: Moritz Schwarz
Editor: Doreen Buchholz
Editorial advisor: Dr. Peter Allenbacher (ZDF/arte)
Production: Alex Busch, Christin Gumpert, Marius Meckl
Line producer: Ulrike Schwerdtner
Producer: Jasmin Gravenhorst
Filming location: Dänemark, Deutschland

Märchen für die Welt – Hans Christian Andersen

Generationen von Kindern sind mit seinen Geschichten aufgewachsen. Auf der ganzen Welt ist Hans Christian Andersen als Märchenautor bekannt und beliebt. Am 2. April wird sein Geburtstag als Tag des Kinderbuches gefeiert.

Dabei schrieb er für Kinder und Erwachsene: „Ich erzähle den Kindern, während ich daran denke, dass Vater und Mutter oft zuhören, und ihnen muss man etwas für den Verstand geben.“ Das tat er. Seine Erzählungen sind anders als die Märchen der Grimms oft tieftraurig und ohne Happy End. Die Meerjungfrau, die sich für ihren Prinzen in ein menschliches Wesen verwandelt, bekommt ihn am Ende nicht. Der standhafte Zinnsoldat landet nach einer irren Odyssee zwar wieder im behüteten Zuhause, am Ende aber leider auch im Ofen. Und das Mädchen mit den Schwefelhölzern, das in einer kalten Winternacht erfriert, liest sich wie eine bittere Sozialkritik. Die Märchen spiegeln oft Andersens eigene Erfahrungen wider.

Denn der dänische Märchendichter hatte es nicht leicht im Leben. In ärmlichen Verhältnissen wächst er in der Kleinstadt Odense auf. Um dem Elend zu entfliehen, macht er sich mit gerade einmal 14 Jahren auf nach Kopenhagen. Hier sucht er sein Glück und will berühmt werden. Nach zahlreichen Enttäuschungen und der Suche nach seiner Bestimmung wird er ein erfolgreicher Schriftsteller. Die Märchen schreibt er freilich erst nur aus Geldnot. Von der lukrativen Einnahmequelle werden sie zu seinen bedeutendsten schriftstellerischen Werken.

Die Dokumentation erzählt vom bewegten Leben des dänischen Nationaldichters und taucht in die aufregende Welt seiner Märchen ein.

Informationen zur Sendung

Sendedatum: Samstag, 19. Dezember 2020 um 20:15 Uhr auf arte
Länge: 52'
Buch und Regie: Sabine Bier
Kamera: Moritz Schwarz
Schnitt: Doreen Buchholz
Redaktion: Dr. Peter Allenbacher
Produktion: Alex Busch, Christin Gumpert, Marius Meckl
Herstellung: Ulrike Schwerdtner
Producer: Jasmin Gravenhorst
Produzentin: Jasmin Gravenhorst
Drehort: Dänemark, Deutschland