Central Germany by night

In the past, the night was dark and there to sleep. Today it is filled with the life and light of people. Viewed from above, a unique spectacle of light and darkness begins after sunset. “Central Germany by Night” shows breathtaking aerial shots and tells stories that only take place under the cover of darkness.

During the night, our world shines in very different lights – from the brightly lit Leunawerke to Dresden’s Elbe embankment to the Leipzig Light Festival. We show a bird’s eye view of what life in Saxony, Thuringia and Saxony-Anhalt looks like after dark.

In spectacular pictures, life at night is viewed from above. Magdeburg, Halle, Leipzig, Dresden, Erfurt and Jena – what do the large and small cities of central Germany look like at night? How do the Monument to the Battle of the Nations, the Semper Opera House or Magdeburg Cathedral shine in the darkness? With drone and helicopter footage, viewers get a view of their homeland that they have never had before.

But not only from the air, also on the ground there are many fascinating things to discover at night and so the film also tells the stories of people who fill the night with life. In the Ore Mountains, for example, the miners go out for the Great Miners’ Taps, which became a UNESCO World Heritage Site this year. At the Halle/Saale railway junction, construction workers toil at a night construction site for the German Unity transport project, Deutsche Bahn’s largest building project, which will ultimately also connect northern and southern Europe.

Meanwhile, Ralf Mende is working on a completely different night construction site: he has already worked as an ice master at the Olympic Games in Lillehammer, Nagano and Turin, but now he and his team of 14 are preparing the bobsleigh track in Altenberg for the start of the season. Over several nights they are icing in layer after layer of the ice track, which is considered one of the fastest and most dangerous in the world.

And in Leipzig, too, preparations are in full swing. Light artist Victoria Coeln has already bathed entire streets in bright colours, but now she is driving a crane through Leipzig’s city centre in the middle of the night to test her installations for the Leipzig Light Festival, when every year tens of thousands of people parade with candles along the inner city ring road and shine their light into the night in commemoration of the Peaceful Revolution.

Broadcast date Sonntag, 22.12.19 um 22:00 Uhr im MDR
Length 60 Min.
Written and directed by: Kira Kaplan & Jens Strohschnieder
Helikopterkamera Klaus Stuhl, Drohnenpiloten Moritz Kertzscher, Jean-Baptiste Höppner
Camera: Alex Foster, Matthias Müller
Editor: Markus Dippner
Line producer: Ulrike Schwerdtner
Producer: Ulrike Schwerdtner
Producer: Jasmin Gravenhorst

Mitteldeutschland bei Nacht

Früher war die Nacht dunkel und zum Schlafen da. Heute ist sie erfüllt vom Leben und Licht der Menschen. Von oben betrachtet beginnt nach Sonnenuntergang ein einzigartiges Schauspiel aus Licht und Dunkelheit. „Mitteldeutschland bei Nacht“ zeigt atemberaubende Luftaufnahmen und erzählt Geschichten, die sich nur im Schutz der Dunkelheit abspielen.

Während der Nacht erstrahlt unsere Welt in ganz unterschiedlichen Lichtern – von den hell erleuchteten Leunawerken über das Elbufer Dresdens bis hin zum Leipziger Lichtfest. Wir zeigen aus der Vogelperspektive, wie das Leben in Sachsen, Thüringen und Sachsen-Anhalt nach Einbruch der Dunkelheit aussieht.

In spektakulären Bildern wird das nächtliche Leben von oben betrachtet. Magdeburg, Halle, Leipzig, Dresden, Erfurt und Jena – wie sehen die großen und kleinen Städte Mitteldeutschlands bei Nacht aus? Wie erstrahlen das Völkerschlachtdenkmal, die Semperoper oder der Magdeburger Dom in der Dunkelheit? Mit Drohnen- und Hubschrauberaufnahmen bekommen die Zuschauer einen Blick auf ihre Heimat, den sie so noch nie hatten.

Doch nicht nur aus der Luft, auch am Boden gibt es in der Nacht viel Faszinierendes zu entdecken und so erzählt der Film auch die Geschichten von Menschen, die die Nacht mit Leben erfüllen. Im Erzgebirge ziehen beispielsweise die Bergleute zum Großen Bergmännischen Zapfenstreich aus, der seit diesem Jahr zum UNESCO-Weltkulturerbe gehört. Am Eisenbahn-Knotenpunkt Halle/Saale schuften Bauarbeiter auf einer Nachtbaustelle für das Verkehrsprojekt Deutsche Einheit, das größte Bauprojekt der Deutschen Bahn, das letztlich auch Nord- und Südeuropa miteinander verbinden soll.

Währenddessen arbeitet Ralf Mende auf einer ganz anderen Nachtbaustelle: Als Eismeister hat er schon bei den Olympischen Spielen in Lillehammer, Nagano und Turin gearbeitet, aber jetzt präpariert er mit seinem 14-köpfigen Team die Bobbahn in Altenberg für den Saisonstart. Über mehrere Nächte eisen sie Schicht für Schicht den Eiskanal ein, der als einer der schnellsten und gefährlichsten der Welt gilt.

Und auch in Leipzig laufen die Vorbereitungen auf Hochtouren. Die Lichtkünstlerin Victoria Coeln hat schon ganze Straßenzüge in bunte Farben getaucht, doch jetzt fährt sie mitten in der Nacht mit einem Kran durch die Leipziger Innenstadt und testet ihre Installationen für das Leipziger Lichtfest, zu dem jedes Jahr Zehntausende Menschen mit Kerzen über den Innenstadtring ziehen und im Gedenken an die Friedliche Revolution ihr Licht in die Nacht strahlen lassen.

Galerie

Informationen zur Sendung

Sendedatum: Sonntag, 22.12.19 um 22:00 Uhr im MDR
Länge: 60 Min.
Buch und Regie: Kira Kaplan & Jens Strohschnieder
Helikopterkamera Klaus Stuhl, Drohnenpiloten Moritz Kertzscher, Jean-Baptiste Höppner
Kamera: Alex Foster, Matthias Müller
Schnitt: Markus Dippner
Herstellung: Ulrike Schwerdtner
Producer: Ulrike Schwerdtner
Produzentin: Jasmin Gravenhorst