Heavy cargo for tough guys – The Port of Hamburg

Weighing tons, oversized and very expensive. The cargo they pack does not fit into a standardised sea chest. The men’s work in the Port of Hamburg is dangerous and a logistical challenge.

The guys from heavy logistics are tough and there is actually nothing they can’t load.  But when a giant propeller costing millions floats through the ship’s hatch and lands safely in the hold, it is always a challenge even for the old hands.

Hans-Henning Fischer is a professional for these difficult cases. The 63-year-old has been working in the port all his life – in all weathers. As an expert in port handling and logistics, he now prepares the port’s junior staff and specialists for the ever-increasing challenges of loading XXL cargo. Young and old come to him for training. Jan Seyer has been through it all for a long time. The 45-year-old superintendent has been working at BUSS for 24 years – he is responsible for planning the cargo there. He usually inspects the heavy cargoes in advance so that there are no surprises during loading. It goes without saying that he accompanies every operation to the end so that he can intervene in case of any complications. In the evening, the colleagues like to drink a beer together – preferably in their neighbourhood – on St. Pauli.

The Port of Hamburg is the calling card and economic engine of the Hanseatic city and is constantly changing. Terminals and storage areas are restructured here almost daily and traditional working environments are changed or abolished in the process. This is because global goods traffic demands ever faster and more cost-effective handling of goods in the seaports. The transport of containers is highly standardised and mostly runs fully automatically. In the heavy-lift cargo business, however, almost every XXL cargo needs its own solution for loading, securing and transport on the ship. Individual solutions and real types are still in demand here.

Broadcast date Am 11. Januar 2016 um 10:30 Uhr; ZDFInfo
Length 43 Min.
Written and directed by: Wolfgang Klauser
Camera: Martin Kaeswurm, Jasper Engel, Sascha Kellersohn
Editor: Doreen Buchholz
Editorial advisor: Imke Meier
Production: Kerstin Peterssen
Line producer: Anke Meyer
Producer: Martina Sprengel
Executive producer: Hartmut Klenke
Filming location: Hamburg

Schwere Fracht für harte Jungs – Der Hamburger Hafen

Tonnenschwer, überdimensional groß und sehr teuer. Die Fracht, die sie verpacken, passt nicht in eine genormte Seekiste. Die Arbeit der Männer im Hamburger Hafen ist gefährlich und eine logistische Herausforderung.

Die Jungs von der Schwerlogistik sind hart im Nehmen und es gibt eigentlich nichts, was sie nicht verladen können.  Aber wenn ein Millionen teurer Riesenpropeller durch die Schiffsluke schwebt und sicher im Laderaum landet, ist das auch für die Alten Hasen immer wieder eine Herausforderung.

Hans-Henning Fischer ist Profi für diese schweren Fälle. Ein Leben lang arbeitet der 63jährige schon im Hafen – bei Wind und Wetter. Als Experte für Hafenumschlag und Logistik macht er den Hafennachwuchs und die Spezialisten nun für die ständig wachsenden Herausforderungen bei der Verladung von XXL-Fracht fit. Jung und Alt kommen zu ihm ins Training. Jan Seyer hat das alles schon lange hinter sich. Der 45jährige Superintendent arbeitet seit 24 Jahren bei BUSS – ist dort verantwortlich für die Planung der Ladung. Er besichtigt die Schwergüter meist vorab, damit es bei der Verladung keine Überraschungen gibt. Selbstverständlich, dass er jede Aktion bis zum Schluss begleitet, um bei eventuellen Komplikationen eingreifen zu können. Abends trinken die Kollegen gerne gemeinsam ein Feierabendbierchen – am liebsten in ihrem Kiez – auf St. Pauli.

Der Hamburger Hafen ist Visitenkarte und Wirtschaftsmotor der Hansestadt und ständig im Wandel. Fast täglich werden hier Terminals und Lagerflächen umstrukturiert und dabei traditionelle Arbeitswelten verändert oder abgeschafft. Denn der globale Güterverkehr fordert einen immer schnelleren und kostengünstigeren Warenumschlag in den Seehäfen. Der Transport von Containern ist hochgradig standardisiert und läuft meist vollautomatisch. Im Schwergutgeschäft hingegen braucht nahezu jede XXL-Fracht eine eigene Lösung für die Verladung, die Sicherung und den Transport auf dem Schiff. Individuelle Lösungen und echte Typen sind hier noch gefragt.

Galerie

Informationen zur Sendung

Sendedatum: Am 11. Januar 2016 um 10:30 Uhr; ZDFInfo
Länge: 43 Min.
Buch und Regie: Wolfgang Klauser
Kamera: Martin Kaeswurm, Jasper Engel, Sascha Kellersohn
Schnitt: Doreen Buchholz
Redaktion: Imke Meier
Produktion: Kerstin Peterssen
Herstellung: Anke Meyer
Producer: Martina Sprengel
Ausführende Produzentin: Hartmut Klenke
Drehort: Hamburg