Panama is that beautiful

Even the famous canal is a surprise, it has sandy beaches and dream islands. The people of Panama are among the happiest in the world and among those with the longest lives. The small country between continents offers almost untouched nature, its capital Panama City is the number one tropical metropolis in Central America.
Orlando’s workplace is the Gulf of Chiriqui. The water there shimmers in dozens of shades of blue and green, and for each the locals have their own name. Orlando is a hairdresser and travels from island to island by boat to his clients. Hairdressing is done directly on the beach or at home.
Yoshi makes, in her own opinion, “the best chocolate in the world”. To ensure the quality, she grows cocoa on her own plantations in Changuinola, where Panama is particularly exotic and adventurous. Noblé Indians live here. The forest dwellers drink five cups of self-harvested and roasted cocoa every day. Is that their secret to a longer-than-average life? 90 years is quite normal for the Noblé.
Felicia works on one of the most important waterways in the world, the Panama Canal. The biologist is responsible for the cleanliness of the water. Because people live and work on the banks and on the islands in the canal. Those who do not comply with the regulations endanger shipping and thus a billion-dollar business.
The film shows the fascinating landscape in impressive aerial shots. A small country, a big canal and a cosmos full of surprises – Panama.

Broadcast date Donnerstag, 29.11.2018 um 21:00 Uhr im NDR
Length 43:30 Min
Written and directed by: Ana Maria Marin und Marco Berger
Camera: Marco Berger
Editor: Fabian Teichmann
Editorial advisor: Ralf Quibeldey (NDR)
Production: Ulrike Römhild
Executive producer: Brigitta Schübeler
Filming location: Panama

So schön ist Panama

Schon der berühmte Kanal ist eine Überraschung, er hat Sandstrände und Trauminseln. Die Menschen in Panama zählen zu den glücklichsten der Welt und zu denen mit dem längsten Leben. Das kleine Land zwischen den Kontinenten bietet nahezu unberührte Natur, seine Hauptstadt Panama City ist die Tropenmetropole Nummer eins in Zentralamerika.
Der Arbeitsplatz von Orlando ist der Golf von Chiriqui. Das Wasser dort schimmert in Dutzenden Nuancen von Blau und Grün, und für jede haben die Einheimischen ihren eigenen Namen. Orlando ist Frisör und fährt von Insel zu Insel mit dem Boot zu seinen Kunden. Frisiert wird direkt am Strand oder zuhause.
Yoshi macht, nach eigener Einschätzung, „die beste Schokolade der Welt“. Damit die Qualität stimmt, baut sie Kakao auf eigenen Plantagen an, in Changuinola, dort wo Panama besonders exotisch und abenteuerlich ist. Hier leben Noblé-Indianer. Fünf Tassen selbst geernteten und gerösteten Kakao trinken die Waldbewohner täglich. Ist das ihr Geheimnis für ein überdurchschnittlich langes Leben? 90 Jahre sind für die Noblé ganz normal.
Felicia arbeitet auf einer der wichtigsten Wasserstraßen der Welt, dem Panama Kanal. Die Biologin ist für die Sauberkeit des Wassers verantwortlich. Denn an den Ufern und auf den Inseln im Kanal leben und arbeiten Menschen. Wer sich nicht an die Auflagen hält, gefährdet die Schifffahrt und damit ein Milliardengeschäft.
Der Film zeigt die faszinierende Landschaft in beeindruckenden Flugaufnahmen. Ein kleines Land, ein großer Kanal und ein Kosmos voller Überraschungen – Panama.

Galerie

Informationen zur Sendung

Sendedatum: Donnerstag, 29.11.2018 um 21:00 Uhr im NDR
Länge: 43:30 Min
Buch und Regie: Ana Maria Marin und Marco Berger
Kamera: Marco Berger
Schnitt: Fabian Teichmann
Redaktion: Ralf Quibeldey (NDR)
Produktion: Ulrike Römhild
Ausführende Produzentin: Brigitta Schübeler
Drehort: Panama